Top Menu

Rotary Young Writer Competition – local heat winners

On Friday April 21st, the Rotary Club of Towcester was delighted to present four young students with prizes following their entries into the Rotary Young Writer competition 2017.

The theme this year was “reflections” and the students had to submit an original piece of work of not more than 500 words. Our Judges this year were published Author Geoff Iley and Rtn. David Reed.  A number of criteria were used in judging the winners including creativity, accuracy (grammar!), and appeal. The judges were extremely impressed with the submissions – 13 in total from students at Nicholas Hawksmoor School and Towcester Primary School. There were very few points dividing the first from the third place winners and both judges expressed their belief that all of these students would go far in their studies!

So – the winner was Grace Goram of Nicholas Hawksmoor school – and she received a set of 6 books of the Dork Diaries.

Second place went to Leo Mullins from Towcester Primary school who received a set of 5 books of the World of Norm.

There were actually two third prizes given – as it was impossible to choose between them – so both Hannah Goram of Nicholas Hawksmoor School and Lillie Golding of Towcester Primary School received a book each written by David Walliams.

Rtn. David Reed said: “The Rotary Club of Towcester would like to thank Towcester Library for so generously donating all of the prizes, as well as providing us with space to present the prizes on Friday and displaying all entries in the library for members of the public to read.  In addition, of course, our thanks go to Geoff Iley for his invaluable advice to these young writers and his time in judging. You can see the entries this week in the Library. Grace’s piece will now be sent to the District competition which will be judged in June this year and we wish her much success”.

You can read the winning pieces below.

Grace Goram- first prize

Grace Goram- first prize

Leo Mullins - second prize

Leo Mullins – second prize

Hannah Goram - joint third

Hannah Goram – joint third

Lillie Golding- joint third

Lillie Golding- joint third

the winners with judge Geoff Iley

the winners with judge Geoff Iley

all entrants

all entrants

By Grace Goram

Grace Goram

By Leo Mullins

Leo Mullins

By Hannah Goram

Hannah Goram

By Lillie Golding

Lillie Golding